PJSHOF: Pine Forest Camp Basketball!

To be honored on Tuesday, April 30th in Philadelphia, PA!  Click HERE to attend!

The Philadelphia Jewish Sports Hall of Fame honors the Pine Forest Camp team of the Jewish Basketball League for its dominance in one of the premier adult men’s league in our region. The league has enjoyed a long history of excellence which dates all the way back to the 1930’s where it was a precursor to the original SPHA’S co-captained by Hughie Black, Founder of Pine Forest Camp. .  The JBL was considered the league that attracted the very best players in the area during this era.

Norm Millan resurrected the league in 1989 after several years of dormancy. Pine Forest was awarded a franchise later that year.  Right from the start, the team was successful with a deep playoff run in its first year. In 1990, the team added several key players to round out a talented roster. This skilled squad of players employed a balance of perimeter shooting, precise ball movement and tenacious defense to win three consecutive championships and begin to cement their legacy in the league. The league itself was very strong, consisting of mostly former high school or college players from the region that were all Jewish.

Pine Forest Camp went on to win another 6 titles over an 8 year period. As the team aged, there were additions in the mid 2000s that contributed to the last two championships in 2005 and 2006.  In total, the team won 11 championships over a 16 year period (1990-2006).

The JBL concluded play in 2006 and is hoping for the next generation of basketball players in the region will resurrect the league, including, of course, the ultra successful Pine Forest Camp team about which the great Leaden Bernstein proclaimed: “This Pine Forest Team is the New York Yankees of the Jewish Basketball League and I predict that someday they will be in the Hall of Fame!”

Our honorees are:

Marvin Black, Owner

Mickey Black, Owner

Steve Chadwin, Coach

Paul Flicker

Howard Lassoff z’l

Sam Jacobs

Harris Pogust

Howard Kades

Eric Verman

Leon Rose

Ken Soffer

Adam Sherman

David Verman

Mike Spivak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *